Chicken Adobo with Gata

Chicken adobo with gata (coconut milk) is a dish that I remember Uncle Manny making when we were kids.  It’s a wonderful variation of chicken adobo.  Angela now makes it.  Here is her version:

I always loved this dish growing up, and have tried several variations.

Typically, I use a combination of chicken parts (on the bone); chicken thighs and chicken breast, and follow the recipe above until malutong (I typically double the liquid portion of the recipe, and after the meat is cooked, set aside about a cup of the sauce for later).

Chicken is a little different than pork, though, because in order to get the ‘fall of the bone’ effect, you have to cook a little longer on lower to medium heat.

After the remaining liquid has evaporataed, and the chicken is cooked through and a little toastado, I add back the liquid with a can or two of coconut milk.

I’ve tried several types of coconut milk with this dish, and have found that Thai coconut milk (even the Lite version) works best. Be sure to taste the coconut milk (for freshness) before adding to the dish, as a bad can of coconut milk can ruin the entire meal! I usually serve with simple garlic sauteed green beans and sininaag.

Without a toddler wrapping her arms around my legs as I cook on a hot stove, this would be a pretty simple meal to prepare. But as a working Mom with too many other things I’d rather be doing (like giving my little Skye 100 kisses a day), I am constantly on the search for the easiest, least-mess way to prepare a meal.

Enter the crock pot.

I’ve found all sorts of interesting uses for the crock pot – sinigang, apritada, and now adobo chicken with gata. For this version, I follow all of above (ie. doubling the liquids in Pinky’s original recipe, garlic, bay leaves, peppercorns, but without the coconut milk) and allow to cook in the crockpot for a few hours (I usually do this in the early morning before heading to work). I skip the part of setting aside the adobo liquid for later (and sacrifice the tostado pieces of chicken – which, for this recipe, is actually okay, since the ultimate result is a saucier meal). Right before serving, I add the coconut milk, and a few scoops of cooked japanese rice.

Wow…sarap!  I’m not sure if this blog was such a great idea after all.  I’ve been inspired to cook but all I’m doing is eating!

Leave a Reply

