Pan de sal

Over the weekend, my brother and SIL were talking about how they excited they are about having pan de sal every morning for breakfast when they are back in the Philippines next month.  They get it fresh and hot from the corner bakery where this bread is as it should be:  small, light & airy.

Unfortunately for those of us who lives in the States, coming across genuinely delicious, light and fragrant pan de sal is virtually impossible.  When we lived in San Diego, Filipinos touted various bakeries for their pan de sal. Excited to finally have some REAL pan de sal after all these years (it’s a taste you just cannot forget), I drove to all the different bakeries in two of San Diego’s very Filipino communities:  National City and Mira Mesa.

To my disappointment, none of the recommended bakeries measured up.  😦

I’ve been on the search for almost as long as I’ve been on the search for NY Style Pizza in San Diego and Houston.  (BELIEVE IT OR NOT:  San Diego DOES have a fantastic NY style pizza place – Bronx Pizza in Hillcrest.  GO.  You won’t be disappointed.)

I am still on the search but in the meantime I thought I’d try to find a good recipe.

So, if you’re reading this and have found one, let me know please!

2 thoughts on “Pan de sal

  1. Hi Pinky,

    My Mom has a pandesal recipe, I was looking for it but could not find it right now. We used to have a bakery in Phils. and her pandesal is awesome, she used to make them when she was here…Hard work though.

    I will call her and give you one, if you have not find one yet.

  2. Oh, Binky! I would love to get your Mom’s recipe although I imagine it would take me several tries to get it even close to your Mom’s, lol.

    Have you baked it before? I had no idea you come from a big baking family! Cool!!! What else can you make?

    BTW – OT but since your suggestion of salabat on FB, we drink a lot of that here!

Leave a Reply

