Old Fashioned Pancakes

Our family loves pancakes.  It goes back to my own childhood when my Mom often treated us to homemade “hot cakes”.

Even when she comes to visit, we are all treated to light and fluffy pancakes.  Her pancakes are always better than mine even though we both use the same Aunt Jemima mix.

But, I’ve finally found a recipe that makes delicious pancakes with little fuss and muss.  I found it at All Recipes.  I usually double the recipe and make mini-pancakes.  It’s somewhat time-consuming but I can then lay out the extras in a single layer, freeze for a couple of hours and then pop them all into ziplock for easy morning access.

Most days,  I add chocolate chips.  When our niece, Jessica, was here last January we learned that eating frozen chocolate chip pancakes was a hit.  Even easier morning access (or snacking for DH).

It’s much easier to give the kids mini chocolate chip pancakes that don’t need syrup.  The bit of sugar in this recipe actually is enough, in my opinion, that syrup isn’t necessary.  However,  I am the only one in my family with that opinion.  🙂  The only change I’ve made to this recipe is to add a dash of pure vanilla.  Yum.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • dash of vanilla

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar.
  2. Make a well in the center and pour in the milk, egg and melted butter; mix until smooth.
  3. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat.
  4. Pour  batter onto the griddle.  I use a small ladle to make mini-pancakes.
  5. Brown on both sides and serve hot.

You can also easily freeze these:  layer on a cookie sheet or in my case, I use a silicon cutting board (Ikea!).  If you have several left overs, top your first layer with wax paper and then set your next layer.  Pop into the freezer for an hour or so and then simply drop them into a ziplock.

My family likes to eat them frozen but if you’re into eating them like a normal person would, the George Foreman grill is a great option for heating these little treats up very quickly.

Leave a Reply

